Making a walking stick

In wood shop I’m making myself a walking stick as part of my most recent outfit. The walking stick will have a walnut shaft with a padauk handle and a silver ring around the joint between the shaft and handle.

I began by making the shaft. Used the bandsaw to cut my walnut blank to size. The blank was mounted on the lathe and turned down to about an inch then I tapered one end to 5/8 of an inch. I sanded the shaft smooth and applied a finish of oil and bees wax. Then I turned a small shelf for the silver ring to sit on. I got a nice tight fit. I then drilled a hole in the top end of the shaft to accept the corresponding tenon from the handle.

IMG_3234

walking stick shaft

 

Then I turned a small shelf for the silver ring to sit on. I got a nice tight fit. I then drilled a hole in the top end of the shaft to accept the corresponding tenon from the handle.

IMG_3272

Notice the small shelf at top

 

IMG_3273

The ring has a nice tight fit

 

For the handle I started by turning the tenon, then I made another small shelf like the one on the shaft. The two shelves will hold the ring in place. I finished shaping the handle and applied oil and bees wax to bring out the colour.

IMG_3270

Here’s the tenon and the two shelves

 

IMG_3274

The two shelves hold the ring in place

 

Here’s the almost finished stick I still need to make a some more pieces of hardware. I would also like to give it a few coats of lacquer or clear shellac. I would like it if the padauk handle was darker than it is so I will see if I can make it darker.

IMG_3277

Here’s the nearly finished walking stick

 

–Parker

 

 

Leave a comment